Influences

image

“It’s not who you are underneath but what you do that defines you.” – Bruce Wayne

That phrase may be a little debatable but you get the point!

Think about some different times in your life; the highs and the lows. Who were you involved with in those times? Who has had big impacts in your life? We need to be very cautious on who we hang around with because those people are the people that we will become. Their actions will ultimately end up influencing ours. These people have all shaped us into who we are today. We have, “been there done that,” and learned some important lessons along the way.

I know that some of my lowest points in life came from hanging around the wrong people. Now, I’m not blaming them. My actions were completely my decision but if I had made a more responsible choice to be hanging around different people the consequences I endured may have been a little less harsh.

People aren’t the only things that influence us. The things we watch on tv, the music we listen to, even the apps we download have an impact on us as well. How about instead of the upgraded version of the newest game; you download The Bible, a daily devotion, or Daystar. We need to be careful what we expose ourselves to. Like the saying we heard when we were little; be careful little eyes what you see, be careful little ears what you hear, and be careful little hands what you touch.

Let’s begin to let Jesus be our influencer in life. I heard a song the other day that I thought fit so perfectly with this weeks topic! The chorus lyrics and link to listen are below.

Give Me Your Eyes by Brandon Heath

Give me Your eyes for just one second
Give me Your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me Your love for humanity
Give me Your arms for the broken-hearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me Your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me Your eyes so I can see

If the little voice inside you isn’t approving of what you’re doing or who you’re with, listen to it! Chances are it’s the Holy Spirit speaking to you. Just let Him be your influencer in everything you do. He is the way, the truth, and the life!

{Proverbs 3:6 – In all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight.}

Stay tuned in for next week! We will be discussing organization. Happy Wednesday!

Love, Your Everyday House Wife

2 thoughts on “Influences

Leave a comment